MPP Sandra Pupatello

Sandra Pupatello and Rachel Decoste

MPP Sandra Pupatello, Minister of Economic Development and Trade

Contact Us

Contact Us
  • To ask questions
  • To make media inquiries
  • To book Rachel as a Speaker


Rachel Décoste is a motivational speaker and software engineer who grew up in Orléans. She was born and raised in Ottawa and moved with her family to Orléans in 1981. She is fluently trilingual (French, English and Spanish) and holds a Bachelor in Computer Science from the University of Guelph.

Ms. Décoste is proud to have grown up in Ottawa/Orléans, which she sees as a community of communities including people from many different walks of life and backgrounds. She grew up among many of these communities and is remarkably reflective of the diversity of her riding. Ms. Décoste, a daughter of immigrant parents, was raised in a Francophone household and attended French schools; however, she was involved in both English and French community groups and attended an English university.

Ms. Décoste, a published poet, has been a community activist since her youth, engaging in letter-writing campaigns to push for change in issues close to her heart: working with the Children's Aid Society to mentor foster children, volunteering to assist in the care of seniors at a local residence, and participating in the community effort to save the Montfort Hospital, among many other activities.

Ms. Décoste received a Volunteer Appreciation Award for her efforts with the Black Canadian Scholarship Fund and was involved with the Famous 5 Foundation's inaugural year in Ottawa. Her commitment has not been limited to local activities: she has traveled abroad to provide aid to people in need in Peru and Bolivia and helped with a drive to send literature to a library in Haiti.

Ms. Décoste was named in Ottawa's Top 50 Personalities in Ottawa Life Magazine's 2010 annual edition, after holding Ottawa's first post-Haiti quake fundraiser less than 2 days after the devastating natural disaster, and also leveraged her rolladex to raise funds to increase diversity in Ottawa City Hall council and encouraging 4 notable city council candidates. Ms. Décoste has continued and increased her involvement with the Childrens' Aid Society, becoming a guardian and mentor to several children.

Ms. Décoste is currently enrolled in a Masters program at the Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Administration at The George Washington Univeristy in Washington, DC.

Gerard Kennedy

Gerard Kennedy et Rachel Decoste

Ancien Ministre de l'Éducation, Gérard Kennedy

Contactez-nous

Contact Us
  • Pour poser des questions
  • Pour des questions médiatiques
  • Pour engager Rachel comme conférencière

Biographie

Rachel Décoste, une conférencière et ingénieure en informatique, est née et a grandi à Ottawa et habite à Orléans depuis 1981. Rachel parle couramment trois langues : le français , l'anglais et l'espagnol. Elle est détentrice d'un Baccalauréat en science de l'informatique de l'université de Guelph.

Mme Décoste est fière d'avoir grandi à Orléans qu'elle considère comme une grande communauté dans laquelle vivent des citoyens de différentes origines et de différentes cultures. Rachel a évolué dans ces communautés qui incarnent la diversité du comté. Rachel, née de parents immigrants, a été élevée dans une famille francophone et a fréquenté des écoles francophones de la région. Cependant, elle a toujours été impliquée dans les deux communautés linguistiques.

Depuis sa jeunesse, Mme Décoste a toujours été un membre impliqué de sa communauté; elle écrivait plusieurs lettres pour pousser des enjeux qui lui étaient chers. Elle s'impliqua aussi en s'engageant dans des actions à caractère social, en faisant du tutorat auprès des enfants de la Société d'aide à l'enfance, en travaillant comme bénévole dans des résidences pour personnes âgées et en prenant part à la campagne pour sauvegarder l'hôpital Montfort.

Mme Décoste, dont les poèmes ont été publiés, a même reçu une plaque en signe d'appréciation du Fonds de bourses pour étudiants canadiens noirs. Dans le passé, elle s'était engagée dans la Fondation "Famous 5" à Ottawa. Par contre, son engagement n'est pas limité uniquement au niveau local, car elle est déjà allée apporter de l'aide au Pérou et en Bolivie et a participé à la cueillette de livres pour la fondation d'une bibliothèque publique dans un village d'Haiti.

Mme. Décoste a été nommée dans le palmares des Top 50 Personalités de la Capitale selon l'édition 2010 du magasine Ottawa Life, après avoir organisé la première collecte de fonds post-séisme en Haiti, pas moins de 2 jours après le désastre naturel d'envergure. Elle a aussi utilisé ses contacts pour ammasser des fonds afin de parfaire la diversité au sein du Conseil de Ville d'Ottawa et encourager quatre notables candidats.

Mme Décoste a continué et augmenté son apport à la Société de l'Aide à l'Enfance en devenant tutrice et modèle pour plusieurs jeunes en difficulté.

Mme Décoste poursuit présentement une maîtrise au Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Administration de l'université George Washington à Washington, DC.